Homemade Granola Bars

  
Who doesn’t like a granola bar?! 

This takes less than 10 minutes to make and there’s no cooking involved! I looked at a few recipes on-line to get the gist of the basics involved and then let my inner granola lead the way at the bulk bin section of Whole Foods. I literally just stood in front of the bulk bins and let the ingredients inspire me. 

If you know me, you know I don’t follow recipes. So when you ask for one, I can tell you what goes into it but then I get the dreaded question, “how much do you put in”? I’m notorious for not measuring anything and I often give the much dreaded answer to recipe followers, “just feel it out.”

So I’m starting to “measure” things and write them down. But please know that 1 cup is “give or take” 1 cup…just feel it out! 😉

Homemade Granola Bar 

Ingredients:

  1. 1 cup prunes
  2. 1/4 cup maple syrup 
  3. 1/4 cup peanut butter
  4. 1 cup rolled oats
  5. 2 Tbs coconut flakes
  6. 2 Tbs cacao nibs
  7. 2 Tbs chia seeds
  8. 1 Tbs coconut oil

In a food processor, grind up the prunes. Then transfer to a mixing bowl and put in the rest of the ingredients. It was fun to mash everything up by hand and to make sure things were evenly mixed in. Then line a baking pan with parchment paper and evenly spread and pack the whole mixture. You can make it thicker/thinner depending on how you like your bars. Mine were somewhere in between. Stick it in the fridge for an hour and then take it out and cut it into bars! Voila! 

I store my bars in a container and keep it in the fridge so whenever I need a quick pick me up, I just grab one! 

Enjoy and lemme know how yours turn out and if you try any substitutes! 💗

Leave a Reply

