Recipe: Linguini and Alaskan cod over a bed of Arugula

Fish is the one of the easiest and healthiest meats you can make. I’ve been experimenting with different kinds of fish and tonight I decided to make the Alaskan cod I got from Trader Joe’s. I wanted some sort of grain or pasta with it and decided on linguini.

I cooked the linguini first since waiting for the water to boil was going to be the longest task in this process! Once the linguini was cooked al dente (I like my pasta a bit chewy as opposed to being soft, which is overcooked for me), I strained it and let it sit out for a bit. I heated up 1 tsp each of coriander seeds and black peppercorn seeds along with some shallots and then cooked the linguini in it. That’s my secret to great texture with pasta. It’s especially good with rigatoni or penne. They get a toasty outer shell. The linguini didn’t get this way but it got the taste of the spices and shallots.

I chopped up garlic and fresh basil and allowed it to sit in a bowl of olive oil until it was ready to heat up and drizzle over the linguini. I seasoned the fish with salt and pepper and Trader Joe’s 21 Spice Salute…it’s really called that!

At this point the olive oil, garlic and basil have been soaking for about 15 minutes. I pour it into a small shallow pan and put it on low heat to allow the garlic and basil to infuse the olive oil. Also, olive oil isn’t conducive to high heat, so this is one safe way around it. Soak whatever it is you want cooked in olive oil first and then do it over low heat.

I heated up about 1/2 a table spoon each of: cumin seeds, coriander seeds, black peppercorn seeds, and mustard seeds along with some chopped with shallots. I also had a mini orange bell pepper I decided to throw in the mix for some color. Then I added the fish and let it cook for 3-5 minutes covered and then flipped the pieces over and added thin slices of lemon on top of each piece and let it cook covered for another 3-5 minutes.

Now it was time to combine the linguini and the garlic basil oil to create magic!

I decided to place a bed of arugula as the first layer on the plate, then the linguini and topped it off with the fish. Voila! Dinner is served. Bon appetit!

20140331-211600.jpg

20140331-211652.jpg

Leave a Reply

