[Spiritual SoundBite] Trusting Your Current (…in life and in the LA River)

I got the chance to fall in love with my city in a totally different way. Los Angeles can boast about its international fare, top notch chefs, diversity, art, music and now…it’s river. Yes, you heard me right. The LA River restoration project has been in the works for quite some time and with a 2.5 mile stretch, there’s water deep enough for kayaking! And that’s exactly what I did with L.A. River Expeditions. In fact, I love it so much that I’m training to be a guide. Can you think of a better way to spend your time in nature?…Cutting through and maneuvering your way through rapids and getting an adrenaline rush at the same time?! And yes, believe it or not, there are rapids in the LA River! The water is calm and serene in some parts and while other parts of the river is flowing fairly fast. It’s a nice balance and variation between relaxation and excitement.

Image

You learn quickly how to read the water as you maneuver yourself between large rocks, sometimes shallow water, and quick moving rapids. What I found most intriguing though was that for the most part, if I payed attention to the water and worked with it, it showed me what to do and carried me through. If I overcompensated with too much strength and paddled too hard to the left or right, the current would turn me around or I’d get stuck. But if I just used the paddle as a gentle guide, dipping it in to just steer me in the direction the water was flowing, I would float down with ease. It didn’t take much effort to just go with the flow.

Image

This reminded me of the fact that most of us can be in our flow if we just allow it. Most of the time, we are stopping it by getting in our own way. Our own will and perceived control over situations causes us to be disillusioned. Life keeps happening just like the flow of the water. Whether we try to stop it or change it, it will still happen. But if we can relax, not cause tension, then this allowance frees us from worry, anxiety, and stress so that things can flow in the time and space it is supposed to. If we can surrender, let go, and trust the current and fully be present, we’ll be safely taken on our journey to be and do exactly what we’re supposed to.

Image

Cheers to a Healthy. Happy. Sexy. You.

Sign up for your free bi-weekly burst of digestible inspiration to fuel you through your day & week here: www.YogaGals.com

Leave a Reply

