[Spiritual SoundBite] Yoga Teacher By Day, Vampire By Night…my Thee-ah-ta debut

Have you ever been given the opportunity to do something you didn’t think you could do? It either felt impossible because you didn’t know how to do it or maybe you were too scared because you’ve never done it or maybe you thought it just wasn’t who you are. We have preconceived notions of what we think we’re capable of and I think it’s time for us to expand upon that.

For example, several months ago, I took a commercial acting class for fun. I realized how alive and inspired I felt after each class. My teacher encouraged me to go on and get headshots and find an agent. I thought to myself–“I’m not an actor!…this is silly, me? Headshots? Agent?” It all sounded like alien language to me and I also realized that there was some fear and self-judgement all mixed in.

…so I continued on with the encouragement of my teacher (Stuart K. Robinson) and I’ve slowly and gradually been going out on auditions. Recently, I went out on what I thought was a commercial audition but it was actually for a  play. While at the audition, I thought, “I’ve never been on stage before, but I’m just going to have fun with it and give it my all.” I left thinking it was a good new experience for me especially since it was the THEE-ah-tah. That night, I got a phone call from them and they wanted me for the role! Panic quickly set in. I can’t do this–I don’t even know what to do! I tricked the director at the audition but can I really keep it up?

…long story short, I’m doing it! I’m still tricking the director and everyone in the cast into thinking that I’m one of them. Whether it’s trickery or not, this experience has shown me that I’m capable of doing something I didn’t think I could do. It certainly is one of those things in life I’d never have imagined myself doing. Life is funny that way.

Cheers to a Healthy. Happy. Sexy. You.

Leave a Reply

