[Spiritual SoundBite] Do Your Joy, It’s (So!) Important

I was referred to (for lack of a better title) an “intuitive coach” and met with her this past weekend. I know, it may sound woo woo and I too was a bit skeptical. But since she was referred by a trusted friend, I decided to go with my intuition on went through with this appointment. I’ve been feeling stuck or unsure of how to navigate through all the different things I’ve been working on the last couple of months and unsure of how to move forward. After an hour of what felt like groundbreaking mind and soul excavation, she made connections for me that I would have never been able to make for myself.

One of these connections she helped me to move through is how I identify myself. I’ve always identified myself with my work. The work that I do is very personal-it’s an extension of who I am and how I choose to express myself. In the last 4 years, I’ve identified myself as a “yoga teacher and massage therapist” and noticed that I’ve gotten a bit stuck in thinking that that was all I was. But lately, I’ve been feeling like there’s more to me but afraid to say, “Wait! There’s more!…” Or feeling undeserved to say, “I also write and cook….” Who am I to say that I am a writer or a cook? Only others who’ve been recognized as such can say these things. At least, that’s how I felt.

An important lesson I learned is that I need to acknowledge myself and all the things I’m doing that brings me joy. That our heart’s desires are connected to our higher self…it’s our true and authentic self attempting to express itself. We get in our own way, maybe feeling foolish for certain things we want to do-we come up with excuses like it’s too late, I’m too old, I’m not talented enough, I’m not this or that. When these thoughts occur, do not pay attention to them! Take a deep breath and go into your heart center where your truth will direct you.ย The more joy you experience will mean that the world gets to enjoy more of you.

Cheers to a Healthy. Happy. Sexy. You.
Leave a Reply

