[Spiritual SoundBite] Dance Like No One’s Watching

Freedom…liberation…This is what I wish for everyone. Not just social, religious, economic, and political freedom but also liberation from mental, physical, and emotional pain. Part of my motivation in becoming a yoga and massage therapist is to help guide others in releasing unpleasant sensations and feelings in their body. When pain in the body is freed up it also liberates the mind. When your mind is no longer distracted by pain, it can focus on more pleasant thoughts.

Often times, we expend energy we’re not even aware of. For example, when students find a yoga pose challenging, I notice their jaws clenching, eyebrows furrowing, and breathing has ceased. That is precious energy being used and wasted. So what unnecessary energy are you exerting? Sometimes it’s difficult to identify which areas of your life are taking up excess energy when you can’t “see” or “feel” it. These are things in our lives we’re avoiding or resisting with our own justifiable reasons and that have undoubtedly take up more mental space than we realize.

One invisible “energy zapper” I’m beginning to let go of, and one I think most people can identify with, is letting go of what others think of me. I may have mentioned before that dancing has aided this new found freedom mainly because having others watch me dance has had to force me to “not care” and get out of my head and into the moment. As a result, I’m less self conscious and am freer to express myself. It has helped me to be more transparent about who I am without worrying too much about the judgment of others. And most beautifully, this is allowing me to BE in the inspiration of each moment.

“You’ve gotta dance like there’s nobody watching.

Love like you’ll never be hurt,

Sing like there’s nobody listening,

And live like it’s heaven on earth.”

-William W. Purkey

Leave a Reply

