[Spiritual SoundBite] Did You Know You’re the Highlight of My Day?

It’s Valentine’s! The one day out of the year where men are expected to affectionately shower their main squeeze with flowers, candy, big teddy bears, a set-course dinner, and any other commercialized products we’ve been bombarded with. It’s amusing how much pressure is put on men (and some women) on this day to make their grandiose gestures of love to somehow prove how much they really do love their loved one. If anything, I think Valentine’s Day is a check-point. It helps point out how good you’re feeling about your relationship or what you feel is lacking in it. It makes me check in with myself to see if I’d do anything differently today than I would any other day. If the answer is yes, then I need to ask myself why I’m not doing these sweet things more often. If the answer is no, then I think that’s a good indicator that I’m being the best loving partner I can be. Don’t get me wrong, the romantic sap in me still likes to acknowledge this “I-heart-you” day and I won’t turn away any cheesy singing telegrams but if it’s the only gesture out of the 365 days out of the year, then it would make me wonder about the lack of inspiration on all those other days.

 

I believe, the only “proof” in proving how much you love someone (if you need to prove anything) is the daily conscious choice to be loving in your words and actions. But, most importantly, it’s the choice to BE love and be loving not only to our loved one, but to strangers we pass on the street and give a loving smile to, or to co-workers we see every day and point out what we appreciate about them, or asking the check-out person at your grocery store how their day is going. These small and simple yet powerful loving gestures that you can generously give for free not only make you more abundant in love, but it can be the highlight of someone’s day.

 

Cheers to a Healthy. Happy. Sexy. You.
Leave a Reply

