[Spiritual SoundBite] Feeling Like A Woman…and haircut photos!

It was my birthday this past Sunday and I’m officially in the midst of my 30s. Perhaps it’s growing up as the youngest child in the family and always seen as the ‘young’ one but for some reason this birthday seemed to mark the beginning of feeling like an adult woman. It seemed to start with my haircut on Friday. I found some photos of hair styles I liked and brought them to my stylist’s home. I told her I was ready for something different; that I was ready to move on from my hippy dippy long hair. I didn’t know exactly what I wanted but I told her how I wanted to feel. I told her that I wanted a haircut that represents what I’m going through in my life right now: “I don’t care what others think,” “There’s no right or wrong,” “It doesn’t have to be just one way,” and “Something light and that won’t get in the way when I yoga and dance!”

She sat me down in the middle of her dining room in a yellow vinyl chrome chair you’d find in an old 50s diner. It was the first time since I’ve known her that I decided to make this appointment at her house. The usual salon mirror that’s facing me isn’t there. I missed seeing her reflection when we were talking and then realized how different this haircut felt because I could not see what she was doing. I thought about the last time I sat this way for a haircut and it brought me back to the days when my mom gave me my bowl cuts as a kid in the garage. The main topic of conversation like any other time is our love life. I couldn’t see what was going on but I could tell she was really enjoying giving me this haircut–I could feel the dexterity of her skillful hands combing my hair sections at a time and snipping away. I got so enthralled with our conversation that it wasn’t until I noticed the long pieces of hair sliding down the black cape that draped over me, did I realize how much of my hair was being cut off. It was probably a good thing I didn’t get to see what she was doing because the part of me that was attached to my long locks would have protested. All I could go by was how it felt…and it felt good. I was giddy with excitement when she told me she was done and to see for myself. On the way to her bathroom mirror, I already felt lighter. And when I finally got to see myself for the first time, I couldn’t believe the image that was staring back at me. It felt like my outside finally caught up with my inside. I looked and felt light…and free. The dead weight was gone. Weight I didn’t even know was weighing me down.

“Is this a ‘break-up’ haircut?” I was asked. “No, quite the opposite,” I happily answered. “I’m calling it my ‘new beginnings’ haircut!” I’m not exactly sure what it is the beginning of, but let’s just say I’m ready.

 

p.s wanna see my birthday haircut? click Β here

 

Cheers to a Healthy. Happy. Sexy. You.
Leave a Reply

