[Spiritual SoundBite] Want a Glimpse of Your Own Truth?

Inspired by his curiosity as to how music influences the lives of others, my friend Robert, a musician himself, has started a series of interviews and photos of other artists. I was thrilled when he asked me to be a part of his project. Having worked with him in the past, I know his creative endeavors are similar to mine in that they attempt to reveal some sort of truth. As a photographer, his snapshots are beautiful and to the keen eye, it reveals something intimate about the subject.

“I don’t prepare questions for these interviews,” he says to me as we make ourselves comfortable on my meditation cushions. I agreed that I also enjoyed an approach of allowing things to flow and happen naturally…each moment inspiring the next. These interviews and photos are meant to reveal the essence of his subjects. And so, I wanted to be in the moment with whatever that moment inspired. “Spontaneity,” I told him, “seems to work out in my favor most of the time.”

As I thought more and more about spontaneity, it dawned on me that it really is just a moment of inspired thought and action: a true glimpse into our own truth and having the guts to act on it. Think of the last time you were spontaneous and decided to do something on a whim–how’d it turn out? I’ll predict that it might have felt a little scary at first, but you gathered the courage to do it, and you probably had a lot of fun and wondered why you didn’t do it sooner.

“Life shrinks or expands in proportion to one’s courage.” -AnaΓ―s Nin

Cheers to a Healthy. Happy. Sexy. You.

stella loves you signature

Leave a Reply

