Meaningful Junk…

I was cleaning out my desk drawer tonight and found my “inspirational dish”. I took out the square porcelain dish given to me by my ex-sister-in-law that has had several purposeful evolutions: candle holder, plant dish, coin dish, soap dish, and currently: my “inspirational” dish. A place where I allow myself to keep random things that may have no significant meaning but seeing them makes me happy and conjure up feelings of playfulness, hope, and optimism.

Here are the random items in this 4×4 dish: various rocks and stones of all sizes-colors-and shapes, a glittery silver star ornament, seashells, a brown leaf, a carrot and tomato eraser, half a key that was the culprit to a flat tire, foreign coins, an orange gorilla eraser you can stick on the end of a pencil, and 1 pin with black and white chickens playing banjos and another of an animated character with the head of an apple. Fortune cookie slips are also amidst this pile of meaningful junk.

my inspirational dish of meaningful junk

It was nice finding these random slips of paper that were once housed in a cookie. I now know why I kept them…they’re exactly what I needed to hear and maybe you do too (shared in the order I found them tonight):


“In great attempts it is glorious even to fail.”

 

“Let the spirit of adventure set the tone.”

 

“Integrity is the essence of everything successful.”

 

Leave a Reply

