[Spiritual SoundBite] 68…living.laughing.loving…(like a kid)

I’m currently on a cruise to Baja, Mexico with my mom. I’m actually tagging along…it’s her 50th high school reunion! They’re the most energetic bunch of 60 & 70 year olds I’ve met. It feels as if I’m hanging out with a group of kids that just look like senior citizens and who are also on speed. I should’ve known better than to think that I’d be able to sleep in…they seem to take full advantage of their time by getting up at the crack of dawn, power walking around the jogging track in their sporty orthopedics, devouring the amount of breakfast food that would be equivalent to an Olympic athletes’, and enthusiastically ready to go ashore by 8am–dressed in their oversized sunhats and fanny packs. I’m barely able to think, let alone function enough to go on a bike tour around the city at that hour. But I figure you only live once, so I’m up for this seniors’ adventure even if it is with just half a brain and sleepy eyes.

This is a good bunch for me to hang out with: they don’t take anything too seriously, everyone loves to laugh, culinary (over)indulgence is expected(otherwise frowned upon if you don’t order two appetizers), and each of them have a unique story to share that sounds as if it was out of a “choose your own adventure” storybook. On the first day, a group of us took a shuttle together over to the Long Beach port. And on the way, a lady about my mom’s age was sitting in front of us and asked, “Have any of you heard from so-and-so?…he used to really like this pretty girl over here (points to my mother).” Then she looks at me and says, “Your mom was known as the pretty one and had lots of boys who chased after her.” Now this is exactly the kind of juicy low-down I wanna hear and came for!

I feel fortunate to have this opportunity to hear stories about my mother and learn what Cecilia was like before she became known as “mom”. She brought with her some old black and white photos of her and her friends from their high school days that I’d never seen before and she still looks the same: short hair, bashful smile, and just a hint of an adventurous spirit in her eyes. It’s no coincidence that we’re on the “Inspiration” cruise line because I’ve certainly been inspired to keep the appetite of a kid for living, laughing, and loving.

*And here’s to wishing you lots of love and laughter with your loved ones during the holidays…

Cheers to a Healthy. Happy. Sexy. You.

Leave a Reply

