[Spiritual SoundBite] It’s Uncomfortable–Don’t Worry, It Won’t Last Long

I hate driving. It’s not even the traffic in Los Angeles that makes me not like it. I would rather just be driven than do the actual driving. I was apprehensive about driving to Santa Barbara by myself this past weekend to celebrate a friend’s birthday. I avoid “long distance” driving…especially alone. The only time I’ve done any sort of road trip is driving down to San Diego to visit my sister and niece and nephews. But I was actually up for this “challenge” (as I called it). I thought it was about time I took a “grown-up” drive somewhere…alone.

With a tank full of gas, and my music to accompany me, I was ready to do this. I passed the familiar beaches and towns along the way that I’ve visited or camped at in the past. Doing the drive gave me courage to think that I may actually be able to go on a solo camping trip with my dog Duke. It’s been on my mind but because I’ve never camped alone nor done a solo road trip. Worry and fear always accompanied this nice thought. My first husband was always the one who found the campsites, set up the tent, and packed up the car. And this is another one of those things I feel like I must do for myself. Because there’s fear, I must do it. I’m not really sure what it is, but I make myself do the very things I fear. The fearless part of me wants to say to myself, “See?! I knew you could do it.” I suppose it’s a step towards believing I can conquer the unconquerable. And if it does turn out to be unconquerable, well…it doesn’t matter. Taking the risk in the first place and being able to say, “I tried” is all that really matters. Living without regrets is a big thing for me.

I think we’re constantly faced with challenges in life that cause fear–some small, some big…causing anxiety, worry, and restlessness. No one wants to feel discomfort. It’s uncomfortable. No matter how uncomfortable it may be in the moment, we must remember it is only temporary. We need to face it by acknowledging its presence, deal with it the best we can, and move through it.

True life is lived when tiny changes occur. -Leo Tolstoy

Cheers to a Healthy. Happy. Sexy. You.

Leave a Reply

