Wordless Expression

I’ve got it and I’ve got it bad. Dancing has been the closest thing if not THE thing to get this “itch” inside of me OUT. The best way for me to describe this itch is a yearning and longing to burst into expression. I can’t recall a time in my life when I’ve needed to express myself creatively so badly. As a kid, playing the passionate pieces of Beethoven and Chopin on the piano was my way of expressing myself. These days, it’s through movement. This longing to move in a different way (other than yoga) has taken center stage.

Dancing is an expression of someone that originates from the inside out. Just like playing a musical instrument, it’s learning how to use the body to convey a message and to express thoughts & emotions…using the body as an instrument.

I find that the most powerful way to connect and communicate (besides kind words) are those moments in life when there are no words to express what is felt. It’s an experience that can only be described if feelings could speak for us. That which can be felt and known without words is most powerful and touching.

Leave a Reply

