Wet Wednesdays at The Sweat Spot!

I think I found my class…my dance-fun-express yourself-let it go-class. Who knew the class I was searching for was in my own backyard?! The Sweat Spot in Silverlake is behind Tarascos Tacos on Sunset Blvd. and Ryan, the instructor and founder of The Sweat Spot is an awesome dancer and teacher. This class was full of girls and boys—equally talented and supportive. I’m bit a envious of those long legged Silverlake boys who can dance.

We started out with some warms ups…some yoga…and then some easy dance moves to get us moving and to get those of us (eh-hem) who are NOT dancers to loosen up and have fun. We strutted our stuff, balanced on our toes, lengthened our bodies, and then BAM!…we were dancing. Before I knew it, it was the kind of dancing I’ve been looking for…expressive, non-technical, and fun. I stumbled through the choreography, danced my heart out, and even got my first dancers’ blisters. Ouchy but I’m quite proud of them.

This class isn’t called WET Wednesdays for nothin’. I was drenched with sweat and had to peel my clothes off when I got home. Now that’s what I call a good class! I walked outta there feeling like I was on top of the world. This will be my weekly “date” with myself.

The Sweat Spot
3327 Sunset Blvd. in Silverlake
323.953.8089

Leave a Reply

