[Spiritual SoundBite] 91 Summers and Counting

Oy…I just called my grandmother whom I haven’t phoned nor visited for over a month now. She sounded a bit discombobulated and had trouble speaking. She actually can’t leave the house because she can’t breathe very well and so she can’t walk. When she speaks, it’s very breathy. Her health has slowly declined within the last 2 years with a couple of scares to the hospital. Growing up, she was a strong and sharp woman who liked shopping and dining out. It’s hard to see her confined to the recliner in her living room.

I was going to write about the splendid summer solstice that has arrived to greet us with longer days and shorter nights. My grandmother also likes warm weather and being outdoors. She used to garden a lot and it amazed me at how healthy and hearty her flowers and plants always grew to be. This will be her 91st summer solstice.

Summer has always been my favorite season. Not only for the beach weather and peach pies but it also makes us want to spend time with friends and loved ones. Summer wouldn’t be the same without a vacation or road trip and the season itself conjures up feelings of carefree fun where time is lost by playing and living in the moment.

I’ll be seeing my grandmother this week and needless to say, I’ll be sharing a peach pie with her πŸ™‚

Cheers to a Healthy. Happy. Sexy. You.

Leave a Reply

