[Spiritual SoundBite] See Me on ‘Top Model’ Soon!

Did you really believe that?! I’m flattered if you did. Although I did get a chance to feel what it’s like (yoga) posing for photos this past weekend. I was lucky enough to have pictures taken by a very talented artist and photographer, Rob at Franklin & Vermont Photography.Β  I tend to shy away from taking photos but when this opportunity came my way, I knew I had to take it. My first instinct was fear. I don’t think I’m photogenic at all…and that insecurity stems from childhood where it seemed like every camera preferred my pretty sister instead of me. Β She could have broccoli bits stuck to her teeth and it still would have come out beautiful! No matter how hard I tried to look cute it just didn’t seem to work.

But somehow, that insecure little girl didn’t stay very long with me for my photo shoot. I was put at ease and Robert was able to draw out the confident and happy yogini in me. Having my picture taken is a bit intimidating. Not only because of the creeping insecurities that flow in, but also because I feel like I have NO IDEA what my mouth, my eyes, my face, and my body are doing. I have a new found respect for models! There’s a fine line between being aware of your body and being self-conscious about it.

Also, having your photo taken can be a very intimate and revealing experience. How you feel on the inside is how it’s expressed outwardly. It would be very hard to feel happy but look angry. Not only are your emotions and mental state apparent, but you’re also faced with how you feel about yourself. Β If you feel self-conscious or awkward, it’ll totally show! In fact, I had to own the fact that I’m now a woman and no longer “Fay Moi”(aka “Little Fatty”…my childhood nickname). I had to own my femininity and not be afraid to express it!

Yup, “Fay Moi”would give me a *fist pump* and be proud of me! Funny how childhood insecurities can still haunt us no matter how old we are. But somehow opportunities come our way to help us face and conquer these little childhood monsters. We just need to be open to them.
Cheers to a Healthy. Happy. Sexy. You.

stella loves you signature

Leave a Reply

