[Spiritual SoundBite] ‘Stand Up!’ …Ride It Out

Being out in the ocean with my surf instructors and hearing “Stand Up!” as my cue to catch a wave was always an exhilarating moment. I’ve lived in Los Angeles my whole life and have never surfed (that sounds so lame!). So I finally did it here in Bali in a little surf town called Sarangan.

Paddling out into the ocean was such a challenge. In the beginning I wanted to get out there as quickly as possible and so I fervently paddled until I quickly wore myself out. I looked around and saw the professionals gliding on the water and they looked relaxed and went twice as fast. So I started to relax and it was much easier!

Once I reached my destination in the middle of the ocean I patiently waited for the next wave to come. The instructors were amazing at recognizing which waves were the best. They’d say, “Ok! Get ready!” And I’d lay on my board and start paddling away until the waved reached me and I’d hear “Stand Up!” It was as if time stood still in that moment and it was just me, my wave, and our silent bond. Also, there was no choice but to go with the flow. It’s truly a magical moment.

Now I understand why surfers are religious about it. It’s a great metaphor for life: relax and be at ease. Be prepared and patiently wait for your opportunity…it will surely come. And when it does, have the courage to take it; ride it out and see where it takes you.

Bali Surf

It’s Spring! The juncture from Winter into Spring is an important one. Learn what foods to eat, how to cook and prepare your food, and which foods are best for your particular body type. Spring into a healthier lifestyle, starting with our Spring Detox starting in April. See below for more info.

Cheers to a Healthy. Happy. Sexy. You.

stella loves you signature

P.S Missed some Spiritual SoundBites from the past? Read them here!
P.P.S Know someone who’d be interested in getting their very own Spiritual SoundBite every Tuesday? They can sign-up here!

Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter View our profile on LinkedIn

YogaGals Videos

SPRING DETOX PROGRAM

Nutrition

Ayurveda Principles

Cooking ClassesYoga

Meditation

**3-Weeks for $108 starting in April**

For more info and to reserve your spot email: Stella@YogaGals.com

brought to you by:
The Stellar Life Blog

and

YogaGals Channel on TV

YogaGals™ is LA’s premiere mobile and green holistic lifestyle leader. We provide yoga and massage therapy, as well as meditation and healthy cooking classes for individuals and groups. We’re here to inspire those who live in the city to choose and create a healthier lifestyle and raise consciousness through practical tips for your everyday life. Our mission is for you and everyone on the planet to be living a healthy, happy, and sexy life.

Leave a Reply

