[Spiritual SoundBite] Nobody Wants To See A Limp…

…arm in yoga class! (What’d you think I was gonna say?) So many times I’ve seen students not fully engaging their legs or arms in postures. My assignment from my teachers was to show up to practice and observe the Yogis I’ve been practicing with every morning and to jot down what I noticed in the way students practiced, how students were adjusted/corrected in a pose, etc… It was interesting to note the obvious things like alignment of the feet or listening for connection to the breath. But then it was even more interesting to note the subtler things like intention and energy behind what the legs, arms, and torso were doing. For example, if there’s intention behind lengthening the arms up, it’ll be felt all the way to the fingertips. Also, a strong sense of one’s center point is relevant to all the poses. So being centered in your pelvis (specifically the point between the sacrum and navel) will give a good sense of being grounded…it’s all about connecting to our mula darha chakra and staying connected to mula bandha. Otherwise, centerdness, focus, strength, and length can’t be obtained.

What I noticed in others is what I’ve either struggled with in the past or am currently being challenged with. To be honest, I wish my hamstrings would give a little way, but I’m grateful for my imperfections and stiffness. It’s a good benchmark for progress and it’s encouraging for me to know that if I’ve come this far, it’s possible for anyone. I can not only relate and have empathy for you but I’m also here to tell you that if I can do it, you can too!

A daily practice of any sort is not easy. It’s a choice you have to make every day and a discipline that can only be self imposed as well as desired. It’s neither being too strict & rigid nor whimsical & haphazard. Where do you need to be more disciplined in your life? Or where are you too inflexible? It takes a bit of practice and experimenting to discover where your middle ground is. But it all starts with conscious choices…no matter how big or small.

I’ve started my Ashtanga Diaries…the insights and hardships of the practice revealed! (at least from my point of view 🙂 ) Read it here.

Cheers to a Healthy. Happy. Sexy. You.

stella loves you signature

P.S Missed some Spiritual SoundBites from the past? Read them here!
P.P.S Know someone who’d be interested in getting their very own Spiritual SoundBite every Tuesday? They can sign-up here!

Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter View our profile on LinkedIn

YogaGals Videos

Bali Mornings
Peaceful Mornings in Bali
I’m deepening my studies of Ashtanga, Ayuyrveda, and Tantra with my teachers, Prem & Radha in Bali.
Be sure to check my blog, The Stellar Life for updates, my adventures, and more importantly, my revelations!

brought to you by:
The Stellar Life Blog

and

YogaGals Channel on TV
YogaGals™ is LA’s premiere mobile and green holistic lifestyle leader. We provide yoga and massage therapy, as well as meditation and healthy cooking classes for individuals and groups. We’re here to inspire those who live in the city to choose and create a healthier lifestyle and raise consciousness through practical tips for your everyday life. Our mission is for you and everyone on the planet to be living a healthy, happy, and sexy life.
Leave a Reply

