[Spiritual SoundBite] Really?! You’re Gonna Do This?

That was my response to the couple who tried to steal my table at M Café on Melrose (a slightly overpriced, yet delicious Macrobiotic café). I was meeting my friend Reisha for lunch. The restaurant has limited seating but I luckily snagged a table for us before she arrived. She surprised me with a bag of FarmBox produce in a paper bag for my birthday. We set the bag on my chair and went inside to order our food. After ordering, I walked back out to the patio to discover a couple sitting down at our table. They clearly moved my produce bag across the way to a vacant chair. Cordially, I told them the table was taken. The tall male said that there wasn’t  a “number” on the table. His girlfriend, now sitting in my seat, chimes in and says, “yeah, you’re suppose to get a # by ordering first and then find a table. Otherwise, it’s unfair for people who already have a #.” Maybe they were responding defensively because they knew they moved my stuff and took the table knowing it was already taken. I stood my ground, looked back in disbelief at her boyfriend, and said, “Really?! You’re gonna do this?” And in a mousey way, he responds with, “Well, if you’re gonna make a big stink about it…” and they both get up from the table and walked away.

I don’t like conflict nor do I enjoy uncomfortable confrontations. In the past, with this sort of situation, I’d feel my adrenaline rising, my heart pumping, and a tightness around my throat and chest. But this time, I felt calm and didn’t feel like I needed or wanted to “fight” with my words. Instead, I turned it back on them. The question I posed: ‘Really? You’re gonna do this?’ was going to be followed up with, ‘You can really feel good about this?’ if they weren’t going to budge.

Instead of getting into a heated debate over their justifications for taking the table (where it would have just turned into a battle of egos), I instead turned it back on their conscience. This story isn’t exciting at all but it’s little challenging situations like this that help me to take what I’m practicing daily on my mat and apply it to real life. I believe that we can all be kind to one another. And I believe that conflict can be resolved if we take the ego out of it. Often times, it’s our ego that gets in the way and prevents us from arriving at a resolution.

Is there currently a situation in your life where your ego may be preventing you from arriving at a peaceful place with it? If so, ask yourself what you’re protecting yourself from experiencing or feeling if you were to put your ego aside. Remember, allowing yourself to be vulnerable may feel uncomfortable, but being truthful with yourself will feel so much better in the long run.

There’s one more important lesson I learned from this situation! Read Part 2 here.

Cheers to a Healthy. Happy. Sexy. You.

stella loves you signature

P.S Missed some Spiritual SoundBites from the past? Read them here!
P.P.S Know someone who’d be interested in getting their very own Spiritual SoundBite every Tuesday? They can sign-up here!

Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter View our profile on LinkedIn

YogaGals Videos

 

UPCOMING EVENTS

Valentine’s Partner Workshop

Sunday, February 13th 2:30-5:30pm

Hand Heart -Small

Back by popular demand, Yoga-Atsu is voted one of LA’s best Valentine’s event for partners by Vital Juice LA. Yoga-Atsu is a combination of massage and pressure point techniques that utilize gentle yoga poses for mutual mind & body relaxation between partners.

Discover how to connect with your partner and…

· create a stronger physical, emotional, & spiritual connection

· deepen intimacy and unlock the fire in their relationship

· renew their commitment to personal well being and one another

· feel relaxed and calm

*Champagne & strawberries to follow your post-relaxation glow.

Sign-up & register by Friday, February 11th
Location: Shakti Box studio in Los Feliz
Cost: $110/couple…includes class, champagne, strawberries, take-home program. *Bring another couple and it’s only $100 per couple.

*Save $10 when you sign up by Friday, February 11*
*Secret Bonus Special when you call and sign up by February 11*

To Sign-Up…Call Stella: 213.321.8218 or Stella@YogaGals.com
(Visa, MC, AMEX, Discover) More info:Valentine’s Yoga-Atsu Workshop
ONGOING CLASSES

YOGA on Mondays…6:30-7:30pm

Gentle candlelight evening yoga flow class for all levels. This is a semi-private group class in Stella’s private home-studio. You’ll get the individual attention that you’d receive in a private session for a fraction of the cost. This is Stella’s gift to anyone who wishes to deepen their practice on a personal and practical level. RSVP ahead of time as classes only accommodate 5 students at a time and fill up quickly.

BEYOND YOGA on Thursdays…7-8pm

Going beyond the physical aspect of yoga, we’ll explore all the intricacies and subtleties involved with your yoga practice without the asanas (poses). You’ll fine tune your understanding of the importance of your breath with techniques not only to help with your practice, but to help strengthen your respiratory system, increase circulation/chi, wake-up your chakras/meridian system, and boost your immune system. This hour will allow you to further deepen your understanding and explore the facets of your practice and how it translates into everyday living. You’ll learn a few simple yet powerful techniques on meditation, breathing, mantras, chakras, and guided meditations to support you in your practice of being and living from a centered place. This will be the time and place for any questions you’d like to ask regarding your practice, what you experience, and any curiosities associated with the physical and metaphysical aspect of the practice.
Location: Healing Nest studio: Private studio in Echo Park

RSVP: Stella@YogaGals.com

Cost:[$10 per class] or [8-Class pass for $64]

brought to you by:
The Stellar Life Blog

and

YogaGals Channel on TV
Leave a Reply

