There’s Nothing Like the Smell of Old…

books. I used to volunteer for a used bookstore that was associated with my local library. I guess business wasn’t good and it closed after 3 or  4 years. I’ve found over the years that many used bookstores no longer exist. I’m sure Amazon alone is partly to blame for its genius in not only convenience but also its range of titles and sellers from all over the world.

Call me a little old fashioned, but I like going to bookstores and flipping through a tangible book. I  I love going to the library…any library…in any city. I still check out books from the library and after simplifying my life this past summer, I better LOVE the things I own. So now, if there’s a book I want to read, I check it out from the library first and then I buy it.

Normally, I go to my nearest mom & pop bookstore in Los Feliz-I like supporting local bookstores…not so much the Borders or Barnes ‘n Nobles, but independently owned bookstores.  It’s rare to come across them these days–so they’re extra special to me. Usually the mom and pop shop don’t have what I’m looking for but I’ll just have them order it for me, and then I go and pick it up in a couple of days. A little more hassle for me, but if it means supporting the shop, what’s a couple of days?

Recently, I FINALLY went into Cosmopolitan Book Shop on Melrose (just east of La Brea). I walked in, and the smell of old books hit me like a fat, sweaty, hairy man who’s been out playing basketball on a hot day and trapped himself in a room that wreaked of his essence. But the strange thing is, although I would not enjoy the latter, I DO however, enjoy the essence of old books. I had always wanted to come here but it was one of those places where I’d only remember when I passed by it on the way to somewhere else. So today was the day. I walked in and was in shock and awe…it was a book whore’s fantasy: books piled from floor to ceiling and wall to wall. I could have spent hours there but thank god my parking meter only had 1 hour on it.

Samuel French Bookstore in Hollywood

Another bookstore I just discovered from a friend is for actors and anyone in the entertainment industry. I had no idea such a bookstore even existed! It’s called Samuel French in Hollywood on Sunset Blvd. There’s a book for every TV show that’s ever existed; biographies of any famous actor; screenplays, musicals, scores, references guides, acting directories…it was never ending and fascinating! I thought it might be a good place to people watch, but it was pretty empty when I was there.

If you have a favorite bookstore in your city, let me know! I’ll add it to my list of things to do in your city when I visit! 🙂

Leave a Reply

