“You Come Alone?”

13-hours-to-Taiwan-3-hour layover-5-hour-flight-to Bali-and-1.5- hours-to-the-villa-later, I MADE IT!

It’s such a relief to have finally arrived! As I sat on the plane ride over to Taiwan I wondered to myself, what the heck am I doing?! Do I really need to go this far for yoga & vacation? And the answer was a definite YES.

The first question I get is “where you from?”…I take that literally and answer “from Los Angeles”. But what I really think they’re asking is ‘what country am I from’ because after I say “Los Angeles”, they ask, “you Japanese?” It seems as though everyone I encounter asks if I’m Japanese, but I soon learned from a local artist who told me that “not too many girls from China walk alone…mostly girls from Japan do that”. Then I get, “why you come alone? where your mother & father? why they not come too?” or I get, “you married? …you have children? why you come alone?” And from what I’ve read in my Lonely Planet book, the Balinese are just very friendly and ask these questions to turn a stranger into a friend and the book also suggested that even if you’re not married or don’t have children, just say “yes” and it makes everything easier ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s my villa and first night in my mosquito netted bed!

Leave a Reply

